NDGW Installs Officers

posted Oct 10, 2011, 3:01 PM by Laverne Buckman

In the front row: Patsy Rambo, Past President; Judi Thacker, President; Dixie Thacker, Trustee; Doris Shaffer, Organist
Back Row: Jean Hoffmann, Secretary, Babette Smith, 1st Vice President, Melissa Tyson, Trustee; Lillie Merritt, Marshal; Kathy Shuder, 3rd Vice President; Jani Meyers, Inside Sentinel; Barbara Rowland, Treasurer; Barbara Bruce, Financial Secretary.

The Native Daughters of the Golden West San Miguel Parlor installed new officers at their July meeting. The women's group is dedicated to preserving California's history with emphasis on Missions, lighthouses and local adobes. NDGW are founders of the Children's Foundation with serves children with medical, dental, occupational or educational therapy. To learn more about this fraternal organization visit their website.
The San Miguel Parlor welcomes new members. Women native born to California, or born to Californians while on military duty are eligible. Meetings are held the 2nd Wednesday of each month at 7 pm at the San Miguel Senior Center. Call President, Judi Thacker 805-467-0093 for an application.

San Miguel Teachers Volunteer

San Miguel teacher Paul DiMatteo works from inside a backhoe's bucket.
Lillian Larsen School teachers, Paul DiMatteo and Christina Wilkinson, volunteered their time and labor at Morning Star Youth Ranch. The ranch was tearing down an old hay barn to make space for an office.  The ranch will be serving youth and families in our community.

Christina Wilkinson is pictured carrying the old timbers from the barn.
Christina Wilkinson was named Teacher of Excellence for Special Education in 2007. Read more about Ms. Wilkinson on the Schools page.
Morning Star operates a Used Tack Store at the San Miguel Flouring Mill to raise funds for their program. The program pairs one child, one horse, and one mentor to meet the individual needs of each one that comes to the ranch offered at no cost.
The 1st Annual Equine, Wine and Art Fundraiser will be held at Stacked Stone Cellars on July 27th!!

First Art Piece Installed

The Kalar family is pictured working together to install the mural
Five generations of Kalars were represented during the installation of the first piece of artwork to be installed in San Miguel as part of the San Miguel Masters in Artful Places program. Brothers David and Steve, their mother Fern, and David's son Kris Kalar spent several hours mounting and framing the artwork depicting their ancestors on June 16th.
Steve Kalar painted a mural of his great grandparents, Johnson and Bertha Kalar, agricultural pioneers in San Miguel from 1881 to 1951. A twenty mule team pulling a wheat harvester spans the eight-foot tall by fourteen-and-one-half -foot wide canvas. The Van Horn family donated the space to display the artwork on their barn on Mission Street.
The framed art piece and installation were donated by Steve to San Miguel Resource Connection to commemorate the agricultural history of San Miguel as well as to inspire other local artists to offer their artwork to beautify downtown San Miguel. Vincent Printing gave a special discount for printing the artwork on the outdoor canvas.
Steve Kalar wrote and registered the guidelines for the community arts program with the state of California for the San Miguel Resource Connection. Steve spends time living and painting in both Italy and in San Miguel as a renowned artist. Some of  his artwork is on display in the Museum of the House of Dante.

San Miguel Advisory Council Election Results

San Miguel Advisory Council members
The San Miguel Advisory Council stands together after the election results.
L-R Betty Cazaly, Mike Sanders, Steve McHarris, Scott Young (behind Steve), Denis Degher, Noel Carpenter, Tom Banish, Debra Lewis and Gary Davis.
The San Miguel Advisory Council held their annual election on Wednesday, June 25th at the San Miguel Community Center. Candidates gave a brief introduction of themselves and answered questions from those attending between 6 and 7 pm with voting from 7 to 8 pm. Seven people were vying for 6 positions; 4 board positions for 2 year terms and 2 alternates. Winning incumbents were Tom Banish, Betty Cazaly (1st alternate), Denis Degher and Scott Young (2nd alternate) as well as new contenders Gary Davis and Debra Lewis.

Voters line up to get their ballots. Kathy Whitacre is pictured with a member of the Women's League of Voters checking the voter registration list.
The new board elected officers as: Denis Degher, chair; Steve Mc Harris, vice-chair; Debra Lewis as both secretary and public relations; Tom Banish, treasurer; and Noel Carpenter, historian.
Michelle Olmsted of the SLO County Public Works Dept. asked the Advisory Council for a letter of support to apply for a Safe Routes to Schools grant to fund a pedestrian railroad crossing with fencing at 16th street. The Council agreed to write a letter of support with the stipulation that no chain-link fencing be part of the project and for fencing to meet the San Miguel Design Plan.
The San Miguel Advisory Council announced the launch of their new website with the goal of keeping the community informed. The website will post monthly agendas and minutes as well as links to current development projects. More details can be found at their official website at www.SanMiguelAdvisoryCouncil.com.

Donation for Scholarship

Photo of donation check for scholarship fund
Photo of George Kardashian, Susan Johnson and Supervisor Harry Ovitt in downtown San Miguel courtesy of Lynne Schmitz
The San Luis Obispo County Garbagemen's Association, with the help of First District Supervisor Harry Ovitt, donated $1,000 to the Lynda Stamps Memorial Scholarship Fund of San Miguel.
The check was presented on Friday, June 13, in San Miguel, by George Kardashian, president of the Association, to Susan Johnson, representing the Scholarship Fund Committee, as Supervisor Harry Ovitt looked on.
This year's Lynda Stamps Scholarship recipient is Jaqueline McReynolds.
The Lynda Stamps Community Scholarship was established in 1998 to benefit Lillian Larsen students and to commemorate Lynda Stamps. Lynda worked at Lillian Larsen School for thirteen years and was very active with the students. She died in September 1998 from cancer.
Each year the scholarship committee's goal is to fund a scholarship to a graduating senior of Paso Robles High School who also graduated from the 8th grade at Lillian Larsen School.  -story submitted by Lynne Schmitz